Westoshas Sarah Fonk leads WFSCA All-State team

Senior Sarah Fonk of Westosha Central and junior Abby Klopp of Baldwin-Woodville were dominating all year and earned player of the year honors in Divisions 1 and 2, respectively, in the 2013 Wisconsin Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association All-State teams.
Klopp helped the defending WIAA state champion Blackhawks reach the title game with a one-hit shutout in the semifinals, but then New London defeated her and B-W, 2-1, in the title contest.
Meanwhile, Fonk was the star of the D-1 competitions, carrying the Falcons to their first title with a combined 32-3 strikeout-to-walk ratio in three games, allowing nine hits and one earned run in 21 innings.
They lead the first-team mound corps that also includes seniors Makenzie Walker of Kenosha Bradford, Kristen Hoppman of Sun Prairie and Callie Troutfetter of Oshkosh West and junior Nicole Newman of Madison La Follette.
Mineral Point junior Beth Wood was the top player in Division 3 and made the second-team as a pitcher. Senior Taylor Schmidt of Algoma was the D-4 player of the year and made the third team as an infielder.
Here is the remainder of the first team, with links to the rest of the athletes who received All-State and All-District recognition.
First team
Kayla Bowe, Sr., Chippewa Falls
Kindra Witthus, Sr., Hudson
Dawn Deterville, Sr. Luxemburg-Casco
Renate Meckl, Sr., Oconomowoc
Annie McClelland, Sr., Union Grove
Molly Krause, Sr., Appleton East
Evie Schaller, Sr., Chippewa Falls
Meg Krautsch, Jr., Oshkosh West
Taylor Smola, Sr., Stevens Point
Katelyn Huemmer, Sr., Sun Prairie
Kayla Konwent, Fr., Westosha Central
Brittney Blazich, Sr., Westosha Central
Katie Thompson, Sr., Baldwin-Woodville
Alissa Adams, Sr., Chippewa Falls
Brittany Baldwin, Jr., La Crosse Central
Carly Lass, Sr., Stevens Point
Heather Woyak, Sr., Stevens Point
Mariah Schultz, Sr., Luther
Links to All-State and All-District teams
Southeast District
Western District
Northeast District
North Central District
Valley/Lakeshore District
Northwest District
South Central District
Southwest District